e-mail: info@proteygroup.com

Cyprus +357 (25) 25-44-66

Moscow +7 (499) 322-9-234

Kiev +38 (094) 711-22-72

Advantages of Cyprus tax system



Tax optimization is the overriding factor influencing any business owner’s decision as to where to establish his company abroad.

In recent years, Cyprus has become an extremely popular jurisdiction, where one can find a lot of advantages in terms of business matters. The tax system can be considered as one of such advantages of the Republic of Cyprus.

The state uses the mixed principle of taxation: residents (individuals and companies) pay tax on income received both in Cyprus and outside, while in respect of non-residents only income accrued or derived from sources located in Cyprus is taxed.

In this regard, the existence of double taxation treaties concluded with more than 60 countries of the world makes it possible to effectively conduct business in an international environment with minimal tax deductions. Such agreements often set forth a relatively low tax rate, as well as the ability to avoid being taxed on the same object twice in two countries simultaneously, if the rules of residence overlap, which, in a, greatly simplifies company’s tax planning.

The tax rate on corporate income in Cyprus is attractively low for any type of the company – 12.5%. Moreover, many types of income (such as dividends, interest income, income from the sale of securities, from loan restructuring, profit from a permanent establishment, etc.) are exempt from taxation.

It can be observed that business pays considerable attention to the availability of the withholding tax in the country when choosing an appropriate jurisdiction. In accordance with Cyprus tax law, dividend and interest payments made by Cyprus tax residents in favor of non-tax residents are exempt from income tax at source of payment. Furthermore, income from the shares sale and purchase is exempt from taxation, and capital gains tax is not charged as well (with some exceptions, for example, in case of the sale of real estate located within the Cyprus territory).

The rules for the value-added tax (VAT) taxation of sales of goods and the provision of services provide for three types of rates: the main one (19%) and two types of reduced rates (9% and 5%). However, these rules do not apply to the company if its annual income from taxable sale of goods and / or services does not exceed EUR 15,600.

Undoubtedly, the introduction of a special, preferential regime for the use of intellectual property, the so-called “IP box regime”, is significant in terms of tax planning for every potential or existing Cyprus businesses. It is related to expenses incurred by the taxpayer for the research and development of intellectual property, and provides for a possibility of a conditional deduction of 80%, which can be applied when calculating taxable income to qualifying profits from the use and / or disposal of such assets. In addition, capital gains resulting from the disposal of an asset are fully exempt from income taxation.

Преимущества налоговой системы Кипра.



Налоговая оптимизация — главный фактор, на который ориентируются владельцы бизнеса, планируя открыть компанию за рубежом. 

В последние годы Кипр является крайне популярной юрисдикцией, здесь можно найти для себя множество преимуществ в вопросах ведения бизнеса. Одним из таких преимуществ является налоговая система Республики Кипр.

Государство использует смешанный принцип налообложения: физические лица и компании-резиденты платят налог на доход, полученный как на Кипре, так и за его пределами, в то время как в отношении нерезидентов налогом облагается только доход, начисленный или полученный из источников, находящихся на Кипре.

В этом аспекте наличие договоров об избежании двойного налогообложения (Double Taxation Treaty) с более чем 60-ю государствами мира открывает возможность активного ведения бизнеса в международной среде с минимальными налоговыми отчислениями. Такие соглашения часто устанавливают низкую ставку налога, а также возможность не платить один и тот же налог одновременно в двух странах, если правила резиденства пересекаются, что в совокупности значительно упрощает налоговое планирование.

Ставка налога на доходы компаний (корпоративный налог) на Кипре привлекательно низкая для всех компаний — 12,5 %, а также многие виды доходов (дивиденды, процентные доходы, доходы от продажи ценных бумаг и от реструктуризации кредита, прибыль от постоянного представительства и др.) освобождены от налогообложения. 

Известно, что при выборе подходящей юрисдикции бизнес обращает значительное внимание на наличие в стране налога у источника. В соответствии с законодательством Кипра, выплаты дивидендов и процентов, осуществляемые налоговыми резидентами Кипра в пользу лиц, не являющихся налоговыми резидентами Кипра, освобождаются от налога на доход у источника выплаты. Помимо этого, прибыль от купли-продажи акций освобождается от налогообложения и не взимается налог на прирост капитала (с некоторыми исключениями, например, в случае продажи недвижимого имущества, расположенного на территории Кипра).

Правила налообложения реализации товаров и предоставления услуг налогом на добавленную стоимость (НДС) предусматривают три вида ставок: обычную (19%) и две пониженные (9% и 5%). Эти правила не применяются к вам, если ваш годовой доход с налогооблагаемых поставок товаров и/или услуг не превышает 15 600 евро. 

Несомненно, очень важным моментом в разрезе налогового планирования для потенциального и существующего кипрского бизнеса стало введение льготного режима для использования объектов интеллектуальной собственности, так называемый «IP box режим». Он связан с расходами, понесенными налогоплательщиком на исследование и разработку объектов интеллектуальной собственности, и предусматривает, что при расчете налогооблагаемой прибыли, условный вычет в размере 80% применяется к квалифицируемой прибыли от использования и/или выбытия таких активов. Кроме того, доходы от прироста капитала, полученные в результате выбытия актива, полностью освобождаются от обложения налогом на доходы.